COVID-19 state of emergency comes into force in Seven other prefectures in Japan


TOKYO, Aug 20 (NNN-NHK) – A COVID-19 state of emergency came into force in seven other prefectures in Japan today, with restrictions on business activity amid the country’s largest wave of infections, so far.

Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, Shizuoka, Kyoto, Hyogo, and Fukuoka entered the anti-COVID-19 measure, which lasts until Sept 12, joining Chiba, Saitama, Tokyo, Kanagawa, Osaka, and Okinawa.

Under the state of emergency, major commercial facilities, such as, department stores and shopping malls are requested to limit the number of customers allowed in at the same time, in addition to, food establishments being banned from serving alcohol or offering karaoke, and those not serving them required to close by 8:00 p.m. local time.

Japanese Prime Minister, Yoshihide Suga, also called on the public to cut 50 percent of going out to crowded places, while asking companies to have employees work from home and reduce the number of commuters by 70 percent.

Chief Cabinet Secretary, Katsunobu Kato, told a press conference today that, according to the latest data, human traffic in Tokyo’s major entertainment areas has decreased by around 35 percent, compared to early July. Kato vowed that the government will continue to work hard to achieve the 50 percent target.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *