Germany removes India from high-risk areas list, quarantine not needed on arrival now


Frankfurt, Germany

As the COVID-19 situation seems under control, Germany has removed India and 13 other countries from its list of high-risk regions. The other countries are Bangladesh, Brazil, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Cyprus, Ireland, Portugal – the Algarve region, Nepal, South Africa, Malawi, Lesotho and Eswatini.

Reportedly, the countries have been selected on the basis of the COVID-19 spread in the respective territories. The report was prepared by the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), a German agency for disease prevention and control.

The RKI noted: “Travellers who have previously stayed in a high-risk area must have a test, vaccination or recovery certificate with them and, in the event that a carrier is used, present the proof for the purpose of the transport.”

The decision means that Indian travellers will no longer have to quarantine upon arrival; earlier, the same was mandatory for 10 days. All travellers need is their proof of recovery, a vaccination certificate or a PCR negative test certificate.

(Source TOI)

Leave a Reply