Singapore extends vaccinated travel lanes to more countries


Singapore will extend its vaccinated travel lane (VTL) scheme to India, Indonesia, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE), as the country continues with the gradual reopening of its borders.

Under the VTL, Singapore will allow entry for travellers from Indonesia starting November 29; and travellers from Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE from December 6, said the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) in a press release on Monday (November 15).

Changi Airport
The latest extension of Singapore’s VTL scheme brings the total number of VTL countries from 16 to 21

CAAS said that it also plans to launch a VTL for India for entry into Singapore from November 29.

Fully vaccinated travellers entering Singapore under the VTLs are not subject to quarantine or stay-home notice, and just need to undergo Covid-19 testing. Unvaccinated children aged 12 years and below will be allowed to travel under the VTL into Singapore if they are accompanied by a traveller who meets all the requirements.

CAAS noted that Indonesia, India, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE are in Category II of MOH’s country/region classification for border measures; with similar or lower Covid-19 incidence rates than Singapore.

The VTL started on September 8 with two countries – Brunei and Germany. With the latest extension, the total number of VTL countries will increase from 16 to 21. Consequently, the quota for all VTL countries will be increased from 6,000 to 10,000 travellers daily, said CAAS.

Countries that Singapore has established VTLs with are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, the UK and the US.

The country will also be launching VTLs with Malaysia, Finland, and Sweden from November 29.

Leave a Reply