Dulux Colour Awards Finalists Announced – Hotel Magazine


Finalists for the 37th Dulux Colour Awards have been announced by the esteemed judging panel of this year’s awards. 

Widely acknowledged as being the pinnacle award in the painting and coating industry, the Dulux Colour Awards celebrate the best innovative use of colour in a built environment. The awards have become synonymous with architectural excellence. 

The awards are separated into seven categories, with each focusing on a specific aspect of architecture, exterior or interior. The highest honour the awards can bestow is the converted New Zealand and Australia Grand Prix awards. 

Dulux colour specialist, Davina Harper said that the level of excellence showcased at the awards is progressing every year.

 “It reflects the growing appreciation of the role that colour plays in the built environment, as well as the courage architects and designers display with exciting innovation.”

According to the competition, earthy tones, especially warm whites and neutrals, muted pastels, and subtle greens are all very popular choices for this year’s entrants and are permeating many residential projects. 

Harper suggested that this year’s contestants embody a renewed vigour and energy, and said that there is a lot more creativity shining through.

“The designers’ and architects’ confidence in using colour is enabling them a greater degree of freedom and experimentation. It bodes well for the built environment and the future use of colour ahead,” said Harper.

New Zealand has nine finalists this year, out of 113 selected from both New Zealand and Australia. Two students from the Victoria University of Wellington and one from the University of Auckland have been shortlisted for the student category. In addition, there are three nominations in the residential interior category, two in the commercial interior, and one for single residential exterior.

The design judging panel this year comprise specialists Sarah Carney, Brahman Perera, Lisa Lee, and Byron George, with the winners announcement being made on the 11th of May.

Leave a Reply