Malaysia urges IRENA to continue support regional Energy Transition agenda


KUALA LUMPUR — The Minister of Natural Resources, Environment and Climate Change Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad headed the Malaysian delegation to the 13th Session of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) Assembly, held in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates from January 14-15.

In delivering the national statement, the Minister emphasised the importance of a just energy transition process that takes into consideration local circumstances and social realities.

He added that, “Malaysia hopes IRENA will continue its work in supporting regional organisations such as the Association of Southeast Nations (ASEAN) and shall consider establishing regional support centres to enable localised support and collaboration in accelerating the energy transition effort by countries in each region through capacity building and technical support.”

The Minister also commended IRENA for its good work and thanked the Agency for undertaking the study on developing the Malaysia Energy Transition Outlook 2050 (METO) Report which reasseses the country’s existing Long Term Energy Scenario Planning for a more ambitious and aspiring future energy target.

The METO 2050 Report is due to be launched in the 1st quarter of 2023. At the sidelines of the 13th IRENA Assembly, the Minister also met with his counterpart H.E. Suhail Mohamed Al Mazrouei, the Minister of Energy and Infrastructure of the United Arab Emirates and H.E. Arifin Tasrif, the Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources Indonesia.

The discussion with both ministers focused on the possible bilateral cooperation that can be pursued between both countries. Both parties also exchanged notes on various energy-related issues including on the subject of the most viable and plausible pathway in transitioning the respective countries’ energy system.

IRENA is an intergovernmental agency that facilitates cooperation and promotes adoption of renewable energy and the IRENA Assembly is the ultimate decision making body made up of representatives from member countries.

A total of 168 countries are members of IRENA and Malaysia became a member of IRENA in December 2010 after depositing the instrument of ratification.

The 13th IRENA Assembly which was presided over by India as the President of the Assembly was attended by more than 1,700 delegates from 140 member countries.

The Assembly, among others, deliberated on the priority and collective actions that must be undertaken by countries to urgently accelerate the energy transition and to stay on course with the 1.5°C Paris Agreement goal, while ensuring a just and inclusive transition.

Leave a Reply